Skip to content

tokyo chinese new year

The city I never wanted to go to in the first place…

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

In September 2014 when I was told I would be sent to Tokyo for two months, I didn’t want to go. I was spoiled from Europe and New York and I didn’t want to go there. I don’t even like sushi?! Tokyo was just not my first choice of places to work and live in.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with b1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Walking through Senso-ji temple in Asakusa

Over a year later and I can genuinely say that this city has grown to be such a special, if not my favorite, place I have traveled to. In the beginning it started out with the feeling of “they really have their own little world here…” and that feeling never left really, but grew to be appreciated a lot more than I ever expected. Of course my experience of having great roommates, successful work, and an overall good time influenced my view of the city but after my trip last weekend, those feelings aside, I was reminded how unique the city is. Although I am no expert (I have friends who have spent over two years total of their career in Tokyo) Tokyo for me is the beauty of intricate history and revolutionary modernism all in one place. It’s a culture proud of their background and beginnings, a culture successful and determined in their future comings, efficient and hardworking, and a culture so, well, nice. As simple as that sounds I have never met such kind and helpful people than the Japanese. I was such an outsider to their world yet felt so welcomed and invited.

Anyways, I was able to spend a few days with my roommate Marlo in Tokyo where I was able to show her around Shibuya where I lived last year, revisit my favorite Indian place, see the Senso-ji temple, and go to Disney Sea! It was a blast and a great break from the slowness of Korea.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Tokyo Disney Sea!

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with b1 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with a6 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with a6 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with a6 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with b1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

One year later and I’m getting better at this whole sushi thing.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset
It’s moments like these where, for me, I’m really reminded that God knows us better than we like to admit. I just hear Him saying, “See?” And still everyday I see more and more why He brought me through where I’ve been.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Leave a Reply

